Smitten as a Kitten in Mittens

It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood, especially if your neighborhood happens to be mine, in vicino di Piazza Santa Croce, and the Italian TRL awards are taking place 2 blocks from your apartment.

We had some rigatoni-looking pasta laying around, so today i got really ballsy and decided to try making my own meatballs. Yeah… from scratch. I didn’t actually know people did that until I saw this “Baked Rigatoni with Tiny Meatballs” recipe on Smitten Kitchen. I don’t know whether I assumed “meatball” was its own animal or that they just magically appeared from the sky, but I certainly never thought I’d be assembling them from random ingredients, and I was even more surprised that I was able to pull it off without burning down our apartment and/or winding up with a mushy mess.

As you can tell, at least the meatballs worked out! I used 3 cloves of garlic (woops) and definitely was not expecting the smoke/steam that APPARENTLY happens when you fry things (sorry roomies!) but they tasted pretty good, overall. I made the sauce, baked it, stuck some mozzarella on top (typical). It turned out okay I’d say. The biggest success was probably the trip to the grocery store, where I was able to use my analytical skills to figure out which things on the shelf were “nutmeg” and “parsley” despite the italiano labels. Win.

Leave a Reply

